running shoes. they’re for running.

I just can’t understand why people wear running shoes for their everyday life. It’s not like they’re running anywhere. I would hazard to guess that most of the people who wear running shoes actually never run. Ever. Running shoes with jeans is not ok. Unless for some reason you’re actually running in jeans. Which would be uncomfortable & not recommended. I know a lot of people who own a pair of weightlifting shoes [myself included] but I never see anyone just wearing their weightlifting shoes to work with a pair of khakis & a button-up. Or those bicycle clip-on shoes – I don’t own any but people who wear those don’t just walk around in them. [Unless they're quickly stopping at the grocery store on the way home. But then they, deservingly, get weird looks.] What is it about running shoes that people think it is ok to wear them all the time? There are few reasons you want to wear running shoes on a regular day:

  1. If you came from the gym & forgot your regular shoes.
  2. If you can prove that the likelihood you will need to run away from something is particularly high today. Considering that most of these people haven’t run since they were 12, and their average age is 40 [?], so they haven’t run in 10 550 days, it seems unlikely that the odds are in favor having to run. Unless of course, the odds are 1/2 in that they would have to run, and they’ve just had a lot of lucky days in row…..
  3. That’s it. I can’t think of any other reason why that would be warranted.

 

3 thoughts on “running shoes. they’re for running.

  1. Dude… you’re preaching to the choir here. I wear my vibrams or flip-flops 90% of the time. Gym time, I strap on my Oly lifting shoes for squat days or any overhead work. The rest of my lifting is done in vibrams as well. I’ve yet to see one other person in the gym squatting in oly shoes. A few folks have a clue and are at least wearing shoes without compressible heels. Anyway, I highly recommend that your readers check out http://wlshoes.com if they are intersted in learning about REAL weightlifting shoes.

  2. I think that the person wearing the shoes in that picture would argue that they are wearing them in order to be prepared for the zombies… hehehe ;)

    • yes i believe you are right. but really, chances of the zombie apocalypse happening today [or ever] are pretty slim.

Leave a Reply

